My Sunday weekend

So this Sunday was very interesting it was the first fencing practice of the week. I got to meet all the new people that joined the fencing club and met all my old acquaintances from last year. We first introduced ourselves and said why we joined fencing in the first place. It was very interesting to hear what everyone had to say. The next thing we did was the warm up. So twenty people played soccer in a room the size of the choir room with a bunch of mirrors in it. It was so much fun(to watch)!!!! Then the coach worked with the beginners while I led the rest of the team. We started with the 300 lunges which I led the team. Afterwards I led them in the blade works. Since this was the first practice we only did basic exercises like a straight hit to the opponents. We would alternate so everyone could do it. Then we started more complicated things like an attack and the opponent would parry the blade and riposte(which is a french word) onto the opponent. So we did this for twenty minutes and in the last forty minutes we simply free-bouted. I did most of the directing and it was quite interesting to see my old teammates fence each other and at the same time I knew we would have to improve a lot if we are to win again this year. So overall this was a pretty fun first practice. Unfortunately i didn’t do anything because I ripped my tendon.

Leave a comment